El Gaitero Spanish Cider Review


Vital Stats:

Producer: El Gaitero
Cider Name: Spanish Cider
Region: Asturias, Spain
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: 330ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apple/Slight wine like
Colour: Light straw
Clarity:Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Ocado
Date: 07/07/12

This has a slight sweet initial taste but then you feel some moderate tingles on the tastebuds shine through as the bubbles hit and sink in. Although it starts on the sweet side, there is a mild dryness and acidity that kick in, but not mouthwatering dry or overpowering. Once you have let bubbles set it is similar to a tangy apple juice.

I’m not too sure if this cider is loved or despised in Spain, but it sure ain’t no Magners and that’s good enough for me. Is it first on my list to buy? Not a chance. But it’s definitely drinkable.

Update 22/08/12: This time I tried this cider slightly chilled and it is still rather pleasant. I didn’t remember it pouring with such a fizz last time, but then again I was at a house party previously and probably wasn’t paying much attention. For me personally you have to give it time to settle, as the bubbles are too overpowering overwise! It does feel like an apple wine with a decent sweet/tangy appley flavour, which is followed by a nice mild dry finish with a hint of acidity. I think it could be well suited for someone who is traditionally a wine drinker.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 7/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    citysuppers said,

    I’m a big fan of this Spanish cider and blogged about it as well http://bit.ly/18eIkon

    I like the sweeter taste you initially get and then how it balances out. Lots of fizz too which made it very refreshing sat in the sun.

    I reckon you should try it again when we get another good spell of weather. I think you’ll enjoy it more as I find that the environment is sometimes half the battle when looking for a satisfying cider.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,039 other followers

