Healeys Cornish Rattler Cider Review

Vital Stats:
Producer: Healeys
Cider Name: Cornish Rattler
Region: Cornwall
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Faint appley
Colour: Amber
Clarity: Slightly Cloudy
Carbonation: Medium sparkling

Review:

From deepest darkest depths of Cornwall we have the Cornish Rattler. Made by the Cornish Cyder Farm, this is their signature cyder, which looks to be aimed at people wishing to chillout and enjoy a good cider on a hot summers day.

This cider seems fairly harmless and nice at first but then that bittersweet bite kicks in, which gives it another dimension. They do say the rattler bites, which they would be right about! For what seems to be a semi-commercial cider, it is actually quite good and does not have that artificial taste you find in a lot (aka Magners and all). Would it be top of my cider list? Probably not, but it is fairly drinkable and I would buy again.

Update 02/03/13: Has a medium/dry feel and is a drier version of a Stowford Press. Good tannins and small bite with a fruity feel. Too safe for my liking though. This also has fair levels of acidity, but is not a patch on the Oak Matured version. Not a huge fan to be honest.

Would I buy this again?: Probably not.
Overall Rating: 6/10

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Matt said,

    I usually drink Strongbow but my mum and dad brought me back a stack of ciders from Cornwall and this is the best cider I have had (so far) Definately top of my list. Only thing is I cant seem to find it anywhere around where I live (Cumbria) If anyone know where I can get it, big thumbs up!

  2. 2

    Jim said,

    its bland, and crappy – like a good strongbow, or an overpriced bad magners.

    i would rather drink vodka and apple flavoured penny sweets mashed up in a polystyrene bag, because it is more like real cider.

  3. 3

    Johnny Cider said,

    Drink it from the Keg! It starts off at 6% as a full barrel but gets progressively stronger as you get nearer the bottom!
    Strengths around the 10-12% mark have been known! Then you’ll know you been bitten by the Rattler!

    • 4

      TheCiderBlog said,

      When I get down to Cornwall I’d like to try it from the barrel and see what’s like. Their oak matured is quality though. My favourite of theirs so far!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

