Hecks Farmhouse Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Hecks
Cider Name: Farmhouse
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple/Slightly Ethanol
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Very Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review:

After quite a disastrous day trying to find decent cider in Gloucester, walking into Café Rene and seeing so much beautiful cider made me feel over-the- moon. Once I knew there was Hecks Farmhouse Cider in the barrels, my eyes lit up and I just had to have it. After 6 hours on Stowford Press, can you really blame me?!?

Looking at this cider, it has a really cloudy appearance and is golden, with a slight touch of orange, in colour. Tasting wise, it is really smooth. Though with the smoothness, it definitely isn’t a sweet cider. It gives a very dry lingering taste that does take your breath away. My friend says that by drinking it, it will probably give you that Esther Rantzen lips-over-the-gums look. Now I’m not sure I agree entirely, but I can see where he is coming from, as it is dry. All in all, this is a proper farmhouse-type cider and if you like those, then you will love this.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Bob Harwood said,

    This stuff is heavenly. Having only had the pleasure of having 1 bottle I’m left craving more but where I’m from…..well, sadly, there’s no chance.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

