Bennetts Champion Farmhouse Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Bennetts
Cider Name: Champion Farmhouse Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Ethanol
Colour: Dark amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review:

Following on from my Richs Farmhouse cider review, my next cider that night was Bennetts Champion Farmhouse cider. Bennetts (or Chestnut Farm as it has now been re-branded) was new to me a few months ago. From the heart of cider country I expected a proper Somerset scrumpy cider and this it has delivered with abundance.

From the second you drink this cider it just hits the back of your throat. It has a proper dry, tangy and sour apple taste to it, which is like having a sharp kick in your taste buds. Though I wouldn’t say it is like ‘rocket fuel’, as I call some of the really dry scrumpy ciders. The taste of the cider has a lot of depth and quite complex but not overpowering at the same time. For a good while after, the taste still lingered on my taste buds and kept a smile firmly on my face, by which point the bad day at the football had completely slipped my mind. This has certainly made it onto my list of favourite ciders and I can’t wait for my next pint already.

Update 16/09/12: A good appley taste but very acidic with a nice dry finish. This might not be to everyone’s taste, but is something I do enjoy.
Overall Rating: 9/10
Leave a Reply

