The Red Lion (Cricklade) Review

Address: The Red Lion, 74 High Street, Cricklade, Wiltshire, SN6 6DD

Draught

Lilleys Apples and Pears
Lilleys Fire Dancer
Westons Stowford Press

Bottles

Mates Ravens Roost

Review

When my other half books a weekend away, a couple of thoughts always run through my head. Will there be anywhere to watch the football? Will there be any cider? We went off to the rural town Cricklade for the weekend with those thoughts firmly in my head and went to stay at the Red Lion.

The Red Lion has a traditional pub feel, with the pub dating back from the 1600’s. It’s still kept many of its original features too, such as the fireplace, the huge beer garden and just the general cottage/pub feel. The food here is really good too. It is probably somewhat wasted on me, especially as I am not a fussy eater. In most eyes it is a gastropub and I tend to agree.

Enough about the pub now and more about what was on my mind….the cider! There does appear to be a feel about the place that the drinks are really important to them. They had just got in the Mates cider on bottles and were looking to bring in more proper cider too. Along with 3 other ciders on tap, this pub was much better than I expected. What I expected was what I found in the other 3 pubs in the town….that was soulless pubs selling rubbish like Strongbow. All in all I was pleasantly surprised and if I happened to be near the Cotswolds again, then I would pop in for a pint!

Opening Hours:

Mon-Thu: 12pm-11pm

Fri-Sat: 12pm-12am

Sun: 12pm-10:30pm

Tel: 01793 750776

Leave a Reply

