Wilkins Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Wilkins
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Dull golden
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review:

For anyone who knows real cider, they will have heard of Wilkins. Roger Wilkins has been making cider since he was a kid, taking over the family business from his grandfather in 1969. The cider is made at his family farm in Mudgley and he insists on only using natural cider apples and no added sugar or water. That’s how cider should be made in my opinion.

I’ve been drinking this for a few years now and I always love having a pint. It’s a very smooth and easy drinking pint that never fails to satisfy. It is a fairly dry cider, but not in an overpowering way. There is a slight bitterness and twang to it and just a genuine cider taste, which brings the feel of the farmhouse to you without even being there. It is definitely one of my favourite dry ciders.

Update 23/08/12: Having a medium/dry I got from their farm a couple of weeks ago and it is sublime. Sexy farmhouse taste with a perfect mix of tannins and dryness. I think this is Wilkins at its best for me. This is up there with the best of them for me

Would I buy this again?: Yes

Overall Rating: 9.5/10

Leave a Reply

