Naish Farmhouse Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Naish
Cider Name: Farmhouse Dry
Region: Somerset
ABV: 7.5% (was listed as 7% in 2011)
Taste: Dry
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple/Ethanol
Colour: Golden straw
Clarity: Lightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review:

Well what can you say about Frank Naish? The guy is a true legend in the cider world. Still making and enjoying quality cider at 87 years old is no mean feat; it’s something I’d love to be saying at 87. Though I’d be surprised if I even make 50!

After drinking cider for many years, it feels really bad that it had taken me so long to try a pint of Naish’s finest farmhouse cider. Would it live upto my high expectations or just be an anti-climax?

From the first smell, you could tell this was real proper scrumpy and quite potent. Even with just having a small sip, it was plainly obvious this wasn’t for the faint hearted, who don’t like a traditional rustic cider and are more at home with a sweet cider. The cider was quite sharp and bitter, though not enough to make you wince and wonder why you even bothered. I also found it quite acidic and it had a really strong after taste. This is another one you have to appreciate slowly and not rush. I could happily laze about and enjoy one of these anytime. Top job Frank!

Update 16/06/13: Good levels of acidity, dry, twangy, fairly sharp/citric and a top drop. It’s a lot less acidic than I had a couple of years ago, but still retains its excitement levels and has lovely levels of tannins. It’s hard to pinpoint what exactly makes this a great cider, but it never fails to put a smile on my face! I bought 5 litres of this for a reason and boy I’m glad I did!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Derbycounty said,

    Do you know of any work on any cider farms?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

