Olivers Yarlington Mill (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Olivers
Cider Name: Yarlington Mill
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Fruity
Colour: Dull amber
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review:

When I got to the Bristol Cider Shop Cider/Perry Festival, I just had to try every cider there to see what was on offer. After going through around 10 of them, I opted for a pint of the Olivers Yarlington Mill cider. This isn’t the first time I have had an Olivers cider, but it was the first time I had tried the Yarlington Mill range. The cider is a single variety cider, which is made from the Yarlington Mill cider apple (from 5 different orchards) and then matured in old oak rum barrels.

My first reaction to the cider was just how smooth and easy drinking this was, with a slight fruity twist, but at the same time also left a lovely long lasting taste in my mouth. It has a nice twang that kept you excited and satisfied, but it was also complexed enough to not get bored of it. With some pints, you can feel like you can have a sip, leave it for a while, chat and go back to it, but with this one I just couldn’t put it down. If I hadn’t come for the weekend purely for trying out many different ciders, then I would happily have 3 or 4 pints of the stuff without really noticing it.

The cider is very middle of the road for the type of cider taste, which what I mean is it could appeal to sweet, medium and dry drinkers alike. Well maybe less so for the dry drinkers, but it’s worth trying if you haven’t already. When I next see it in a pub, then I shall be buying myself a pint for sure.

Update 19/11/12: This was bought straight from the farm last weekend. It’s still very smooth, fruity, has a bitter citrus bite to it and just a gorgeous drink. The aftertaste is awesome to this and there’s decent tannins, with a hint of oakiness at the end to give it that lovely touch. Probably one of my favourite Oliver’s ciders for sure.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] list and I’ve seen that successfully work as a SV cider with many producers over the past year. Oliver’s probably have made my favourite version of it thus far. Yarlington apples are traditionally one of […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

