Gwynt y Ddraig Two Trees Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwynt y Ddraig
Perry Name: Two Trees Perry
Region: Glamorgan
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Pear
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review:

Ah I do love the occasional perry. It isn’t quite as good as cider for me, but it is still rather satisfying none the less. After the rave reviews from most of my friends (and awarded Silver in the 2011 National Perry awards), I thought it was best to finally get round to trying it when I got the chance at the Bristol Cider Festival.

Most people know who Gwynt y Ddraig is, so I won’t rattle on about that too much here. However, if you don’t know about them, then they are one of the biggest award winning Welsh cider producers out there. They have even crept through the doors of Wetherspoons and even supermarkets, so they are definitely branching out a lot now.

I have to say the Two Trees Perry is rather satisfying, even if it was possibly a little too sweet for me. The perry gave me the illusion I was downing a juicy liquid pear drop sweet, which was really fruity and juicy and fairly moreish. The taste buds got a lovely mild tingly and tangy sensation and it just went down too easy for my liking, though with it being only 4.5% it shouldn’t get too messy! As far as perries go, this is a decent one, but I would prefer if the perry had a bit more of a kick to it than it currently does.

Update 26/01/13: It’s sweet, a bit too light and has an ok twang to it. Very easy to drink but just not much my thing. Needs a bit more body to this for me.

Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

