Millwhites Straw Pressed Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Millwhites
Cider Name: Straw pressed cider
Region: Somerset/Hertfordshire
ABV: 7%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Dull golden
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review:

Having previously enjoyed the Millwhites Rioja Cask cider at the Lazy Dog a good few months back, I thought I would see how the straw pressed cider compared to it when I recently visited the Bristol Cider Festival. Straw pressed cider is how cider used to be pressed through back in the day, but I rarely see it done with cider now. Presumably it is not as effective or not to everyone’s taste.

This cider felt like a traditional farmhouse cider from the second I drank it. It was fairly acidic, which brought a burn to my throat, but the taste was really exciting. The tanginess from it made my tastebuds go on a bit of a high and then there was a good but light bitter after taste. Overall it was a really enjoyable experience and certainly will be having another when I see it again.

Leave a Reply

