Pips Cider Medium Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Pips Cider
Cider Name: Medium
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review:

On my first venture into the English tent at the International Craft Cider Festival, I didn’t hang about and I went to the first cider maker I could find. After all, I was going to visit them all eventually, so why confuse myself later on in trying to remember who I had been to or not? This happened to be the guys from Pip’s cider, who were a really friendly bunch and it happened to be their 1st festival outing.

From chatting with them, they were aiming their cider towards the wine side of the market and creating a lovely dry fizzy cider. They had been doing the cider making for the past 2 years from their own farm in the Golden Valley region of Herefordshire. After giving away their apples in previous years to local producers, they wanted to try make some for themselves. At the festival they had the option of sweet, medium and dry, of which I tried them all, but my favourite was the medium.

The cider has a really lovely crisp, fruity, dry taste and fairly similar to wine. I’m not usually a fizzy cider fan, but this I could make an exception for, especially as the sweetness and the bitterness mixed well to give it a very moreish taste. This is the kind of cider you could appreciate on a hot summer’s day and I can imagine it would refresh you really well. The only thing I would say is you have to appreciate a drier cider to appreciate this, as even the sweet cider is quite dry.

Update 11/01/13: This was a Xmas present from the family and thankfully they have learned to actually buy me real cider and not some evil industrial stuff! This is a bottled version of their medium cider and has been lightly chilled.

It poured lightly sparkling, has a beautiful apple aroma, with a hint of toffee and wood, and is just gorgeous to drink. It’s fruity, crisp, has a lovely appley taste and a gorgeous aftertaste. The aftertaste you can feel a lovely touch of dryness with the oak, it has some bitterness & lightly sour finish to it. The mix between bittersweet and bittersharp apples for me is spot on with this cider! There’s enough to grab your attention and keep you excited whilst drinking this, yet it isn’t overpowering in any sense. This is much more to my taste than their dry cider and is spot on in my opinion. I’ll certainly be going back for more!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

