Jorg Stier Echter Speierling Apfelwein Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Jorg Stier
Cider Name: Echter Speierling
Region: Frankfurt, Germany
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Golden yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review:

The Germans are all very well renowned makers of good beer, but can they make a good cider? When I went to Berlin in 2010, I managed to sample some of the Possman Apfelwein and I wasn’t best impressed. It was like tasting an ‘Olde English’ cider and felt a bit artificial in taste. Though as I only found that in the supermarket, it could be their equivalent of a Magners over there. Anyway, I got a chance to sample some different German cider at the International Craft Cider Festival, so I jumped at that opportunity. The only way was going to be up for them after all, after my previous experience.

Most of the ciders they had were aimed very heavily at the wine drinkers (e.g Apple Secco). Luckily for me, there was one still draught cider available. It was the Jorg Stier Echter Speierling Cider, which is a hell of a mouthful to say at the best of times. According to their description, it is an apple wine and service tree fruit based drink. So with my fingers crossed, I took the plunge with this and was hoping for the best.

This definitely felt like a hybrid between a wine and a cider. It had a fresh apple taste, with a nice crisp dry finish and felt very pure in taste. There was no sign of any bitterness and it gives you a short sharp hit, with not too much taste lingering afterwards. It will definitely appeal to anyone who loves a wine. Even my other half was impressed with this one and she doesn’t even really like cider!

Update 19/06/13: From a 1 litre bottle bought at Jorg Stier’s farm. This was lightly sparkling, has a dry, crisp, sour apple feel and a lightly bitter/sharp finish. This felt a little light/lacking on flavour to be honest and I was hoping for a bit more of a kick to it. It had a lovely start to it and just fizzled out too soon and didn’t really take your mouth on that exciting a journey. It’s very pleasant, though lacking a little something in my opinion. Not a bad apfelwein by any means, though not great either.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

