Gwynt y Ddraig Fiery Fox Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwynt y Ddraig
Cider Name: Fiery Fox
Region: Glamorgan
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Golden yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review:

So next on my radar was a Welsh cider, with the Gwynt y Ddraig ciders taking my fancy at this time. I’m not too sure why, as I have had them many times before, but I guess I was just trying to see if they had anything different. I’ve had plenty of good things from their range previously, such as the Black Dragon and Two Trees Perry, but this time I was going to opt for the Fiery Fox. The lady serving me said it got its name because they add a touch of ginger to the cider, which gives it a slightly fiery taste. I’ve had some good and bad experiences with ginger adding to cider before, but it’s when the ginger overpowers it that I hate most. It’s a cider drink after all and I want to taste that!

The first thing I have to say about it was that it was fairly sweet, but glad to say it had a nice smooth apple taste with only a hint of ginger at the end (such a minor hint at that too), which seemed to work well compared to others out there who do something similar. For me it was probably too sweet to drink that many of, but I could see this going down well with people who are interested in getting into cider and don’t want anything too harsh and they like their drinks sweet.

Update 22/06/13: Odd sweet smell and hell of a lot of sweetness in the taste. Deep under the sweetness is a mild acidity waiting to come through. It doesn’t taste alcoholic at all and just too sweet for me.

Would I buy this again?: Not really
Overall Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

