Gwatkin Squeal Pig Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwatkin
Perry Name: Squeal Pig
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Fruity
Colour: Amber/Slight red hint
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review:

I’m going back for more at The Portcullis cider festival and guess what I am going for this time? Yep you guessed it, it will be perry this time. I was just in the mood to alternate between the cider and perry all day long. One that really jumped out at me, or should I say squealed at me, was the Gwatkin Pig Squeal perry. Just having a name that sounds that cool, you just have to try it don’t you?

Surprisingly this is the first Gwatkin cider/perry I have reviewed, which quite surprised me really as I have had a good few of their drinks in my time. Gwatkin cider is based at Moorhampton Park Farm in Abbey Dore, Herefordshire. This is where they live and produce their cider/perry, from the local orchards they own. Recently they even featured on the programme ‘Drink Britain’, which featured James May & Oz Clarke talking with them about their perry.

So how was this perry? Well, it has a very distinct rich pear taste at first, which then turns into a slightly mild tang following through. However, for me this perry of theirs is probably a little too sweet for me. Don’t get me wrong, the perry is really good if you have a sweet tooth, but that isn’t me unfortunately. I look forward to finding the perry of theirs that is more to my taste, as apart from that it was a good perry.

Update 26/01/13 – This is a darker colour, a lot more acidic than last time and a bit more to my taste. However, it is still a too sweet and would struggle to have a pint. Good in small doses but nothing more.

Overall Rating: 6.5/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    cas said,

    acidic? more like sweet vinegar. Not often I don’t finish a drink, but I really couldn’t.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

