West Croft Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: West Croft
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review:

To finish off The Portcullis cider festival, I wanted to go out with a bang. I wanted something that I would remember the festival by and to leave on a sky high note. I searched through the line of bag-in-boxes, and then I saw it, there was a West Croft dry right with my name on it. Well ok maybe not literally having my name on it, but there was a sign I should have it. After all, it was made by the same people who make Janets Jungle Juice, so it had to be good right? This was to be the chosen one for me and I asked the barman to get me my half.

Just from the smell you could tell it was a proper farmhouse cider, which is always a good sign in my book. So then I took the first taste and damn it was dry, fairly acidic, sour and definitely not one for the faint hearted. It’s the kind of cider that would put hairs on your chest, but I personally enjoyed it and wouldn’t hesitate to get it again. Though after having 1 of these, I don’t think I could stomach a second straight after. If you love your cider dry, then this would be a good one for you.

Leave a Reply

