Days Cottage Ruby Pear Perry (SV) Review


Vital Stats:

Producer: Days Cottage
Perry Name: Ruby Pear (SV)
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Pear/Ethanol
Colour: Ruby red/Orange
Clarity:Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Farmers Market
Date: 07/07/12

Whilst on the search for the Days Cottage perry, which I loved so much at Reading Cider Festival, I saw they sold a “Ruby Pear” perry. What made it stand out was the glowing reddish colour just blazing towards me. I’ve never seen a perry with such a distinctive colour before, so it is something I just had to buy. Apparently it gets its colour as it is made from the beetroot pears found near to the farm, which is a very rare endangered variety of pear. I think they mentioned that there is only something like 3 trees in the world that grow it. How crazy is that?!?!

Now onto the taste… it is fairly dry from the start, where it feels like you can just about taste the skin of the pear. This for me is slightly similar to wine and also fairly light feel to it. It’s the type of perry that just gets more dry the more you have. I’m down to the bottom of my glass nearly and my mouth feels like it needs to be made moist again.

Maybe next time I should chill slightly, as I think it might benefit slightly from it. I think it’s a decent perry but it feels like something is missing to take it from good to great.

Would I buy this again?: Yes

Leave a Reply

