Gwatkin Foxwhelp (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwatkin
Cider Name: Foxwhelp (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Sweet Apple
Colour: Copper orange
Clarity:Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Royal Oak Pork & Cider Festival
Date: 14/07/12

I’ve found most Gwatkin ciders to be fairly sweeter than what they say they are, so to see one of their dry ciders available I thought this could be my lucky day. This is another single-variety , which Gwatkin seems to like doing.

What first struck me was how sweet this smelt, but the taste is anything but that. It’s fairly dry, bitter and starts drying your mouth out. I was hoping for my tastebuds to go on a roller coaster ride but unfortunately they didn’t. It was fairly monotone and the excitement didn’t last. It could well be a success for someone who loves their cider dry and bitter, but it wasn’t too much for me.

Update 07/09/12: I tried it chilled this time and it’s better than when it wasn’t. Feels fruity, but very dry and bitter. Not really my thing but I can see it appealing to a dry cider drinker.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly

Overall Rating: 7/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Dr, Christopher Kent said,

    This was certainly a dry cider, but to the level of a vinegar and there was no hint of an apple aroma. Purchased 29-9-13 Bowood Country Fair, Wiltshire


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

