Gwynt y Ddraig Farmhouse Scrumpy Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwynt y Ddraig
Cider Name: Farmhouse Scrumpy
Region: Glamorgan
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Faint apple
Colour: Golden
Clarity:Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Royal Oak Pork & Cider Festival
Date: 14/07/12

Picking my next cider at the Royal Oak pork and cider festival I went for a Gwynt y Ddraig one. You can’t really go wrong with them. This time I went for their Farmhouse Scrumpy.

Just smelling this I couldn’t really feel too much from it but a faint apple hint. But the taste more than made up for that. It’s a nice sweet start and then the mild tannins and acidity kick in to give it a nice tangy taste. It’s slightly on the sweet side of medium for me, but very drinkable none the less. Fairly similar to their Happy Daze, which is fine by me.

Would I buy this again?: Yes

Leave a Reply

