Ciderniks Combe Raider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ciderniks
Cider Name: Combe Raider
Region: Berkshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Farmyard apple juice
Colour: Golden
Clarity:Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Festival
Date: 03/08/12

Ciderniks is a new one for the Bristol Cider Festival, but not a new one on me, as I previously had the Dab Hand back last year in Reading.

The Combe Raider name of this cider just makes me immediately think of Angelina Jolie in Tomb Raider. Probably her at her prime I think and looking damn fine. Now can this cider be as sexy as that?!? Well I’ll have to try it won’t I to find out!

The initial smell of this is pretty good and makes me think of being in a farmyard with a barrel of cider by me to keep me company.

As for the taste, I have to say this is fairly sour, but has a nice bitterness shining through that makes you happy. It feels fairly medium to start with but the more I drink this then the more it’s drying my mouth out. Like the Dab Hand, it feels slightly watery, but definitely satisfying and worth trying again. It’s one that certainly has grown over me since I started it.

Update 22/06/13: Citric, sharp, dry, lightly sour, Eastern Style, pleasant, not overly challenging but very drinkable

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

