Gwatkin Yarlington Mill (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwatkin
Cider Name: Yarlington Mill (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Sweet apple/Ethanol
Colour: Copper/Brown
Clarity:Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Festival
Date: 03/08/12

Ah so onto a Yarlington Mill single variety cider. Just behind the Browns as my favourite apple.

From the smell of it, it feels very alcoholic. Like a rum or whiskey smell coming through. Possibly made in one of these barrels?

Now the taste….well that is the most unique Yarlington Mill cider I have ever had. You can feel the apples in the taste, but it just reminds me of those whiskey/rum toffees I had as a kid. Quite sweet and alcoholic tasting but still nice. My friend, Song, is raving about this one and says it reminds him of a port. It feels fairly rich and maybe slightly thick and syrupy but has some tannins trying to fight its way through. For me it is a nice sweetish cider, but not my perfect type of cider. I can imagine it would feel a bit sickly by the end of a pint. This is not a gulper but one to drink slowish.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but in small doses.

Update 19/11/12: This is the bottled version I got from Truffles Deli in Ross-On-Wye and is only 7% ABV, so slightly weaker than the draught version I had previously. Still this is fairly dark in colour, but not quite as brown as the draught I had earlier this year. This one is definitely more of a copper colour with a touch of red. It’s very clear and refined, but still rich, sweet and just very unique at the same time. Definitely has the whiskey/rum toffee sweet taste I felt in the draught version and feels like polars apart from the Oliver’s version of Yarlington Mill I had earlier tonight. I guess it’s not just what the apple is, but where it is grown and what you do with it that counts too. A very enjoyable pint nevertheless and would certainly have this again. I just wish it wasn’t as sweet as it is, but it does have a good slightly sour feel to it and a tasty aftertaste. A drier version would have been much preferable. Still, it’s one of the better Gwatkin ciders I have had.

Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

