Hecks Blakeney Red (SV) Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Hecks
Perry Name: Blakeney Red (SV)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Sweet pears/Floral
Colour: Straw
Clarity:Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Festival
Date: 03/08/12

Now onto my first perry of the festival and where better to start than with a Blakeney Red single variety. It seems like the king of all pears in my experience. Can Hecks continue this on or spoil my experience of it?!?

The smell of this feels slightly sweet and floral pear tones. It’s a nice smell that puts a smile on your face.

From tasting this, it starts fairly sweet but has a little bit of bite to it and is fairly exciting. It’s possibly slightly on the sweet side for me and more juice tasting than alcohol, but would happily drink it. I just like my drinks to have more oomph and kick to it. Possibly why I prefer the apples to the pears, but still a good drink.

Update 26/01/13: This poured a light straw colour and has a sweet perry smell and fairly floral too. Right time to get this one down me now! It’s definitely sweet, has a gorgeous pear taste and then a bit of dryness kicks in and just seems to excite my taste buds. I could happily drink pint after pint of this and not really even notice. It’s smooth, too easy to drink and tasty. You need to appreciate a sweet drink to appreciate this one.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not my favourite perry.

Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

