Mr Whitehead’s Apples & Pears Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Mr Whitehead’s
Pider Name: Apples & Pears
Region: Hampshire
ABV: 5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Pears/Citrus
Colour: Straw/Yellow
Clarity:Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Festival
Date: 03/08/12

I can’t say I have really had many piders (Cider and perry mix) before, but I’ve usually not been impressed. There was just something wrong about it. Can this change my perception of that?

It definitely has an interesting smell to start this one off. You can feel the apple and pears but there was also like a lemony citrus smell coming through.

With your first mouthful it feels citrusy too. Like a sour kick on your tongue that sparks it into life. I can feel some mild acidity too but not too much. It’s not too often I say it, but I do like this one from Mr Whitehead’s! One of the better piders I have had too.

Update 26/01/13: It has a very perfume feel to the aroma and taste. There is some acidity and sourness to the taste too. It’s also nice, simple and easy to drink, but just lacking something. It feels more like a juice than an alcoholic drink. To be fair I don’t hate it and think its awful, it just needs more ooomph.

Would I buy this again?: Yes if I wanted a half decent pider

Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

