Dunkertons Black Fox Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Dunkertons
Cider Name: Black Fox
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Slightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden yellow
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 21/08/12

Having put this in the fridge all of an hour ago, I just couldn’t wait any longer for it to chill more. Yes I know I should keep my fridge better stocked, but I am a man and I am lazy!

From having a read of the bottle, the black fox is named after this mythical black fox that is “as black as night, so that it might live in a man’s shadow and so never be seen” and it’s favourite haunt is the cider orchard. Though can you blame him? If I could I would! It’s a pretty cool looking label though.

Anyway onto the cider, it does have a fairly big initial fizz burst, but thankfully it isn’t a long lasting one and just settles well with the occasional bubble. It has a lovely fresh appley smell too.

As for the taste, for a sparkling cider it is bloody good. The fizz compliments this cider and doesn’t act as a distraction. I would say it is fairly smooth and has very little bitterness, but the tannins are shining through well and truly. The taste is sexy and is long lasting and the crisp dry finish is awesome and exceptionally moreish.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

