Sheppy’s Vintage Reserve (2011) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Sheppy’s
Cider Name: Vintage Reserve (2011)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 7.4%
Taste: Medium
Served: Slightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Mild ethanol/Oak
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Sainsbury’s
Date: 21/08/12

Surprisingly, I think this is my first review of a Sheppy’s. It must have just been my lack of supermarket cider shopping, as I rarely buy or go to them. They are sold in pubs too, but usually in the fridge and I am usually a pint kind of man. Bit of a poor excuse I know, but I got there in the end 🙂

Anyway onto the cider and I have to say it does pour very fizzy. It sounded like Niagara Falls as it was coming out, but that died down about a minute later.

Apparently this cider is oak matured and I can feel a little bit of oakiness in the taste, but not too much. It has a slight sour apple tartness about it, mild bitterness and fairly good tannins. I would say this cider is pretty good and does take your mouth on an exciting adventure, but I think it would be better as a still cider. Oh and you definitely feel the alcohol in this. No deception in this one. What you see is what you get. If I tried a 2nd one now I probably won’t remember needing to work tomorrow!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

