Severn Cider Medium Sparkling Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Severn Cider
Cider Name: Medium Sparkling
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 6.3%
Taste: Medium
Served: Slightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apple
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 23/08/12

This is another first for me to review this producer, but obviously I have tried this before. Severn Sider are pretty local to me and another one I see mainly in bottles, rather than on draught.

My initial thought was this poured pretty frothy, but it was a short lived one as the bubbles died down quickly. The bottle says it is fermented in oak barrels, which I can see slightly but not overpowering. It is a faint hint of it really.

It has a slight sweet initial taste and feels fairly tarty with like an apple skin taste. There’s a slightly dry after taste with some acidity and nice tannins. I do quite like this, even if it does have a different funky taste. I can’t quite pin point what apple it tastes like, but it’s a very distinctive taste.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

