Crones Cider User Friendly Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Crones Cider
Cider Name: User Friendly
Region: Norfolk
ABV: 6.1%
Taste: Medium
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Citrus/Apple/Odd unique smell
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Essex Cider Shop
Date: 24/08/12

Having been given this as a present last year, this cider has been a bit like a forgotten cider to me and hiding in the corner. Luckily it said it was in date til next year, so definitely not one I have lost out on yet. I guess that’s one of the joys of bottled cider in that they last longer than your standard draught.

This cider is apparently made from organically grown fruit and small amount of Demerara sugar. Demarara sugar in cider? I’ve never heard of that before personally. I always thought it was white sugar if you used sugar? It’s always better personally to just use apples when possible.

Anyway, this is another unique cider in both smell and taste. I’m not sure if it’s because I left it too long and it’s normally different, but it’s in date so I’m not sure. Will need to try another to find out.

It’s definitely got a bit of a citrus twist to it but boy it is tangy, slightly sour and tarty. It’s not unpleasant, but not what I was expecting. It’s another one of it reminds me of something, but I’m not sure what. It will come to me eventually. Don’t you just hate it when that happens?!?

Overall it’s definitely an odd one that I’d have in small doses, but not a first choice. I’d be interested to see if what I have is what it’s meant to be like.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

