Ross-On-Wye Alpaca ‘Cyder’ Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Alpaca ‘Cyder’ Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Citrus/Ethanol
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 28/08/12

It’s been a while since I last had a Ross-On-Wye/Broome Farm cider, so today was going to be the day to make up for lost time. They are the guys who interestingly let Alpacas graze near their cider apple trees. I’ve heard of pigs doing that, but you don’t often hear about Alpacas doing that too! From the look of the bottle, one of their Alpacas must be called “Cyder”, who is adorning the label of their dry cider.

The smell is definitely of fresh apples with a bit of citrus to it (and a hint of ethanol) and the taste is pretty similar too. What feels fairly juicy to begin with, then hits you with a sour citrus, dry bite. It’s a dry bite that does actually dry your mouth out fairly rapidly. It feels fairly smooth and at 5.5% and clear, it has obviously had some processing done to it too. For me personally it just is a bit too sour. I personally prefer a bit more acid to it instead of sourness. It also feels like it might have been put in a rum or whiskey cask at some point, but that could just be my tastebuds playing with me at this time of night! It’s not an unpleasant taste, but just not necessarily to my taste.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    So does that mean this cider is a one night stand? I just found your blog. Cider is just starting to slowly grow back here in the U.S. Wish I could get my hands on some British Cider.

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Possibly yes, but not necessarily just for one night. All fine in small doses more than anything with this one.

      Glad to hear cider is picking up again over there. Do the producers over there not have similar style to a UK cider? I’ve never had an American cider, so I can’t really comment on what it is like. You should come to the UK and have a cider trip I think 😉


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

