Ty Gwyn Dabinett Medium (2011) Cider (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ty Gwyn
Cider Name: Dabinett Medium (2011) (SV)
Region: Monmouthshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apple/Rhubard & custard
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: International Craft Cider Festival
Date: 29/08/12

I really am cleaning out my cider closet now from last year and next on the list is a Ty Gwyn Dabinett Medium from 2011. Tw Gwyn apparently is Welsh for the White House, which is where they make their cider and of course nothing to do with where the American President is. Though I reckon a cider apple tree could well have run their country better than they have! Ty Gwyn are based in the Monnow Valley, which has other famous things such as Henry V birthplace, Rolls Royce and Bohemian Rhapsody hailing from there. Here was me thinking Wales didn’t have much except sheep and rugby there….how wrong could I be eh?!?! 😉

The smell of this is quite odd; It has the smell of sweet apples but it feels like I can smell the rhubard and custard sweets you got as a kid. It’s not unpleasant, but just a little strange smell coming from my cider!

As for the taste, it comes across fairly mild and sweet to start with, but then there is a slight bitterness/acidity to it and a minor dry finish . For me it just doesn’t have enough to it. There doesn’t feel like there is enough depth to it and it is over too quickly. It’s certainly drinkable, but not my favourite single-variety dabinett by a long shot. I think their medium/dry would probably be more my thing personally. I’ll have to give that a go soon.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly.
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

