Millwhites Blackberry Blush Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Millwhites
Cider Name: Blackberry Blush
Region: Somerset/Hertfordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Blackberry
Colour: Dull orange/Copper
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: The Lazy Dog, Bristol
Date: 01/09/12

So it’s another football day and of course that means off to The Lazy Dog for my pre-match pint(s). The ritual usually is a good few pints of the Millwhites Rioja Cask and then depress myself watching Bristol Rovers. However, today there was no Rioja Cask and they had the Blackberry Blush instead. Begrudgingly, I bought one purely out of curiosity…

My typical opinion of fruity ciders is why bother?!? I love my apples more than any other fruit for a start, so why spoil a good thing? Secondly, it usually tastes of just a sweet mess that doesn’t know what it wants to be. Anyway, can this one sway me?!?

The smell, as expected, was dominated by the blackberries and a hint of farmyard apples in the background. It wasn’t the most enticing, but at least it wasn’t sickly sweet smell.

As for the taste, I can feel the nice acidic scrumpy taste in there, but it’s just a bit too sweet for me and too much blackberries trying to takeover.

Overall, it’s a step up from most fruit ciders in that it has a good cider as the base to it, but fruit ciders aren’t really my thing. This is a little too sweet and not enough of the real cider taste I love. It still is probably one of the best fruit ciders I have had though.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly if no proper real ciders are there.
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

