Tutts Clump Traditional Farmhouse Cider (Medium/Dry) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Tutts Clump
Cider Name: Traditional Farmhouse Cider (Medium/Dry)
Region: Berkshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Wine like
Colour: Golden yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Unknown
Date: 03/09/12

This is one of the ciders that has been on my shelf a while this year, but I have completely forgot how I got it. I have a feeling I was given it as a gift, but old age is definitely got to me.

It’s been well over a year since I last had their cider, which was the Royal Wedding Special. This one is “handmade from a variety of eating, cooking and crab apples, mainly from within West Berkshire”. So an eastern counties cider by the sounds of things.

The smell is definitely eastern counties style, which is a mix between apples and a wine.

As for the taste, it is like a crisp, dry white wine, but obviously an apple taste and not of the grape variety! It’s got some acidity to this and a bit of a tang, but not too much at the same time. It feels a bit like eating a fresh apple that has soured a little. It’s another to try and tempt a wine drinker to cider. It’s not my type of cider, but I can see it appealing to some. The fizz is a bit too much of a distraction for me too.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly, but not my style of cider really
Overall Rating: 7/10

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Tim Wale said,

    Thank you for your comments. If you still have the bottle, check the batch number and I will tell you where the apples were from, when pressed and when bottled. The fizz is not carbonated but bottle conditioned. This is still our best seller. (around 30,000 litres of this particular blend per year)

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Cheers for the info. Always good to find out more about what I am drinking 🙂 From the looks of the bottle it was from batch 0097

      • 3

        Tim Wale said,

        Batch 97 was bottled on Friday 16th September 2011. The apples were pressed on 7th September 2010 and came from Aldworth, Hungerford, Buckhold, Upper Basildon and Hampstead Norris, all in West Berkshire.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

