Sherston First Press Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Sherston
Cider Name: First Press
Region: Wiltshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Colston Arms, Bristol
Date: 08/09/12

It’s not often I go down my local on St Michaels Hill to discover a cider I have never heard of before. Luckily for me that has happened recently when I discovered a Sherston Cider was available. It’s a fairly local cider made in Wiltshire and by the sounds of it, it is cider made the traditional way.

The first press is their cider made from a blend of Somerset Red Streak, Michelin and Brown’s Apple. They also have a Special Reserve and Truly Scrumptious available in their range.

My first impression is this is a lot more sweet than the medium/dry that they say on their website. It’s definitely more of a medium/sweet personally. There’s a slight bitter, sour tangyness going on, but it’s not the most exciting cider in my opinion and feels a bit too sweet for me, though it does end with a slight dry touch. I tried their Special Reserve previously, which certainly seemed more to my tasting. I could see this being a session cider, as it does go down rather easily. Overall it’s very pleasant, but don’t expect to be wowed by this one.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but preferred their Special Reserve
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

