Ashridge Medium/Dry (Draught) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ashridge
Cider Name: Medium/Dry (Draught)
Region: Devon
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Farmhouse apples
Colour: Dull amber
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Star and Dove, Bristol
Date: 10/09/12

It’s the first time in a while I have ventured south of the river for a cider. I usually advise to take your passport, as it can be a different world down here. This time it was for a friends pub quiz, so I begrudgingly obliged.

The last time I had an Ashridge cider is probably a good few months ago at a festival. It’s the first time in ages I have seen it in a pub in a bag-in-box, as I always seem to find it in bottles. A draught cider I always seem to prefer, as it feels more how it naturally should be. I am just not a fan of carbonation I guess!

I have to say it smells just gorgeous. A lovely farmhouse feel, that makes you think you are in the country.

The taste is definitely as good as the smell. It’s very smooth, fruity, but has a lovely crispy, bittersweet finish.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

