Cornish Orchards Black & Gold Cider (Sparkling) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Cornish Orchards
Cider Name: Black & Gold (Sparkling)
Region: Cornwall
ABV: 5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Fruity/Apples
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Unknown
Date: 10/09/12

After a tough Monday back at work, I needed something to relax me and refresh my tastebuds. There sitting in the fridge was a Cornish Orchards Black and Gold just begging to be drank, so I was only too happy to oblige.

This is another cider producer I know and like, but I can’t for the life of me remember when I got it this one. Though it’s always nice to find a cider you forgot you even had! The label is nicely simplistic but classy, though I don’t like their suggestion that it could be enjoyed over ice! No ice in my cider thanks!

This poured fairly fizzy, but settled down quickly to a virtual standstill. The smell is very fruity and it is just one of those you appreciate the decent smell and it feels satisfying.

As for the taste, it’s like a sweetish but bitter apple juice, with a nice crisp, dry and fairly sour finish. I really am impressed with this one and definitely has a moreish feel to it, which certainly tingled my tastebuds well.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

