Burrow Hill Farm Pressed Medium/Dry Sparkling Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Burrow Hill
Perry Name: Farm Pressed Medium/Dry Sparkling Perry
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.3%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Pears/Floral
Colour: Light straw/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 11/09/12

After a good meaty BBQ, I fancied giving a perry a go to refresh and relax me. It’s actually my first perry since I turned 29. I’m not usually the biggest perry fan, but a change is always nice once in a while.

This time I went for a Burrow Hill perry. I never really noticed they did a perry before, as I am used to only having their cider or cider brandy. God those are damn fine, but that can be saved for a different review! So can their perry live up to their high standards of their cider based products?!?

The smell feels a little floral with a good touch of ripe pears. As for the taste, it feels a very delicate, crisp pear, which is followed by a slightly cheesy taste. I wouldn’t say it felt very full of flavour, but it was a nice taste, very refreshing and a fairly long lingering. Though I think the fizz is a bit of a distraction and not complimenting this perry. It’s not the best perry I have had, but it’s certainly worth trying.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

