Butford Organics Cider Gatria Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Butford Organics Cider
Cider Name: Gatria
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Dull copper
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 11/09/12

My next cider tonight, for my ever frequent BBQ, is the Butford Organics Gatria. As the name suggests, this is fully organic cider, with the browns apple being the main apple variety used. I do have a love for single-variety browns cider, so hopefully this up there with the best of them.

The smell is a really gorgeous juicy apple smell. It seems to draw me in an beg me to try it…

So of course how I could not then try it! It starts with a gorgeous juicy taste, which then puts an intriguing sharp/sour taste charging through you, with a slightly dry finish. There feels a good level of tannins, but boy you do need to like a nice sharp, sour cider. This fits me like a glove, but it might not be to everyones taste.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

