The Orgasmic Cider Co Parton Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: The Orgasmic Cider Co
Perry Name: Parton Perry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 5%
Taste: Sweet
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Pears
Colour: Dull gold/Orange/Hint of red
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 13/09/12

For my birthday this year I did my usual trip to the Bristol Cider Shop, as I had luckily been given a voucher to spend there. Is there a better thing in life than free cider?!? So anyway this Parton Perry was one of my selections as it ticked many boxes of something different to my normal tipples of choice. It was a perry and sweet, which are 2 things I don’t usually go for.

The first thing I noticed about this perry was the colour. It just is so not a typical perry colour, as it looks more cider like. So once I got past the colour, it smelt very strong and distinctly of pear and a slight farmhouse feel. There’s also a sign of sediment too in the bottle.

As for the taste, it feels fairly thick and syrupy, sweet and has a nice farmhouse feel, with a good level of acidity. This reminds me of a Hecks Perry and I would definitely have this again, but probably not more than a couple in a session. It’s a decent sweet farmhouse perry and well worth trying. Some might find it too rough, but it works for me.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

