Cider Farm Lakes Somerset Cider (Dry) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Cider Farm Lakes
Cider Name: Somerset Cider (Dry)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Farmyard apples
Colour: Dull copper/Orange
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Stil

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Dobunni Farm, Somerset
Date: 18/09/12

Whilst scouring online for obscure cider farms in Somerset I came across cider made by Dobunni Farm. Some people said it was open, some said it might be closed and some people had never heard of it. So whilst on my trip to Somerset I thought I’d pay it a visit to find out more.

Dobunni Farm seems to be a multi-functioning place where there’s anything from fishing to conference centres there. I obviously just wanted the cider, so it’s a good job they had a farm shop for that. The first thing I noticed was how pricey it was compared to your average cider farm. £7.50 for 2 litres isn’t bad in the scheme of things, but it’s double the price of some cider farms!

The smell felt like farmyard apples and not amazing to be honest; The taste isn’t a whole lot better either. It’s smooth, appley, has mild bitterness/sourness with a dryish end, but it’s just not exciting. It feels exactly like a Thatchers Heritage and I’d be struggling to tell the difference if I had a taste-off between them. It’s probably my most disappointing one I had picked up on my recent trip of Somerset.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly if no other real cider is about.
Overall Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

