Hecks Kingston Black (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Hecks
Cider Name: Kingston Black (SV)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Dull golden
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Hecks Farm Shop
Date: 17/09/12

On my latest cider trip, I thought I’d finally get round to visiting the guys at Hecks, who are based down at Street, Somerset. I’ve tried so many of their ciders (mainly single-varieties) , but surprsingly it is the first time I have had their Kingston Black. This was once my favourite type of single-variety cider apple, but is still up there with the best of them.

The smell of this is very different in my opinion. You get a nice appley aroma, but also possibly a sweets/sherberty smell. Whatever it is, it’s definitely fairly satisfying.

As for the taste, it starts off slightly sweet, turns bitter/sharp and slightly sour/tart and then starts to dry your mouth out. It’s an interesting experience, but I was hoping for more of a decent finish to this. It felt a bit like an anti-climax really and slightly too bitter and sharp at times. It’s not a bad cider, but just not necessarily to my taste.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly, but not a first choice
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

