Lyne Down Kingston Black (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Lyne Down
Cider Name: Kingston Black (SV)
Region:
ABV: 6.2%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Rustic Apples
Colour: Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Lyne Down
Date: 19/09/12

Surprisingly, this is another one of last years cider I haven’t touched yet, which I got when I did a cider making day from Lyne Down. That was a great day to be had and definitely glad I did it. I learnt a lot then and I’m always learning more everyday from cider.

Lyne Down makes a great Browns (single-variety) cider, so I have high hopes for this one. Fingers crossed this doesn’t let me down and Lyne Down isn’t just a one hit wonder!

This pours with a huge head to it, which settles very quickly to just a little sparkle. I was worried for a minute that this has been over carbonated. Thankfully this wasn’t the case.

The smell is of a really deep rustic apples. Now I have had a few Kingston Black ciders, the smell is very distinctive to that. Beautiful smell this is too.

Finally I’ve come round to the taste and I have to say it was worth the wait. It has a smooth, gorgeous juicy apple taste, with a good bit of bitterness, but not overbearing at the same time. This is then blended into a good level of sour/sharpness, a touch of dryness and lingers well. I have to say it’s also very moreish and you could easily get through the bottle and not even really realise it. It’s just an exciting and pleasurable cider.

To some this may seem slightly toned down and refined for a Kingston Black, but it works well for me. I’m not one for a hugely over bitter and sharp cider. This is not quite as good as their Browns, but it fares well for a Kingston Black for me.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

