Dunkertons Organic Vintage Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Dunkertons
Cider Name: Organic Vintage Cider
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 660ml bottle
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 21/09/12

Ah so onto another Dunkertons today. This is their 2010 vintage cider, which they made when they were celebrating their 30th year in the business at the time. It must be very satisfying doing so well over such a period of time. I know if I was in charge of a cider business, then I’d struggle to survive as I will be drinking all the profits!

This is the second Dunkertons I have reviewed, after previously trying the sublime Black Fox. I’m keeping my fingers crossed this one is of the same high standard!

My first thought of the smell is it wasn’t that strong, but had a nice whiff of fresh apples. It was a very delicate smell, which you can certainly appreciate.

Now onto the main bit…the taste! It starts off lightly sweet, but then you can feel it getting sour/tart and follows up with tannins kicking in. The finish is very crisp and delicately dry. As for the excitement, it is there but not in huge amounts. I have to say it is really easy drinking and refreshing. At 7.5% it is also very deceptive, as it doesn’t feel like that. It’s a decent cider, but the Black Fox just edges it for me.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

