Bridge Farm Brown Snout (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Bridge Farm
Cider Name: Brown Snout (SV)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Old Fire House, Exeter
Date: 29/09/12

After a brilliant victory for Bristol Rovers today against Exeter, it was only fitting to find a decent cider to celebrate our first win of the season. After trawling through a few pubs we came across the Old Fire House, which is like a cider lovers heaven. There’s a good 10 real ciders on, so for a change I actually had a tough choice picking what I wanted. I eventually opted for the Bridge Farm Brown Snout cider, as I never realised they even did that before!

My last experience of a Bridge Farm cider was fairly good, so yet again I had high hopes for this one. It’s a Somerset cider after all and I’ve rarely been let down by a proper cider from there.

The smell of this cider is very decent, with a gorgeous apple aroma and a slight farmyard feel to it. This one is a clear one though, so it is probably filtered in some shape or form.

As for the taste it is a very easy going cider, which is smooth, mellow and has a dry, light bitter and sour finish. You could happily drink plenty of pints of this and not even realise it. I wouldn’t say it is the most challenging of ciders, but it is decent for what you do get.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sandy said,

    Hi Cider Blog
    We have not filtered our Brown Snout, we did rack it several times!
    Thanks for the reviews and a keeping a great blog.
    Back to pressing for me now!
    Cheers

    Bridge Farm Cider

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Thanks Sandy for the clarification. I’m forever learning new information about cider, so it is always good to hear things from the producers themselves. I look forward to trying my next Bridge Farm Cider!

      Cheers,

      Nick


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

