Winkleigh Sam’s Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Winkleigh Cider
Cider Name: Sam’s Dry Cider
Region: Devon
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple/Ethanol
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Old Fire House, Exeter
Date: 29/09/12

So my final pint before I head off to home is a Winkleigh Sam’s Dry Cider. I wanted to go for something local and this was the one that I recognised. I wasn’t hugely excited with the medium I had previously, so could this be an improvement on that?

The first thing I noticed was how light this cider was. It was nearly the colour of water! This had a fruity appley smell with a hint of alcohol in the background.

My first sip of this and I have to say I am a little disappointed. It’s smooth, dry, slightly watery and just doesn’t have enough depth to it. There was some sourness to it but not much else. It isn’t a bad cider, but just not my type really. The excitement levels are just not there and I was hoping for more.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly if no other real cider available.
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

