Millwhites Whiskey Cask Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Millwhites
Cider Name: Whiskey Cask Cider
Region: Somerset/Hertfordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Farmyard apples
Colour: Copper
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Millwhites Farm Shop
Date: 05/10/12

My cider from the recent trip to Somerset is nearly at an end and it’s finally time to have the Millwhites Whiskey Cask cider. As it’s a Millwhites, it is guaranteed to have a good bite to it and not for the faint hearted.

So this one was matured in a Whiskey Cask and I have to say I do love a cider properly matured in a barrel. It can add a lot to the taste, but I don’t like it to overpower it. There can be a delicate balance and I hope this one has done it right.

This one has a really sexy farmhouse apple smell to to it and a little hint of ethanol. So far so good I say. Now onto the taste and I have to say it is gorgeous. There’s a good smoothness to start with and a lovely apple taste, that turns into a good level of acidity and not overly harsh that it burns the back of your throat and finally finishes with a good hint of dryness. This feels a lot more easier to drink than say the Rioja Cask, but still so good at the same time. I don’t think there is a huge oaky taste to this one, but a very nice subtle hint. I think it’s hit the nail on the head and definitely one of the better Millwhites.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

