Dunkertons Organic Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Dunkertons
Perry Name: Organic Perry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Pears
Colour: Dull straw
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 17/10/12

After finally getting back from holiday and giving the cider a rest for a couple of days, I thought I’d get myself a perry. It’s been a while since I had a perry and luckily for me there was a Dunkertons perry in the fridge just begging to be drank.

It’s the first time I have tried their perry, but after hearing such rave reviews, then it’d be rude not to give it a go. I’ve slowly warmed to perry over the last year and I do like a proper perry once in a while. It’s not quite as good as cider in my opinion, but it’s a very welcome alternative.

When this was poured it was literally bursting to want to get out of the bottle. Luckily spillage was to a minimum and it settled down very quickly in the glass. Maybe it was just so excited to see me that it had to leap out the bottle.

Once I got around to smelling it, it had a beautiful floral pear aroma and a slight hint of alcohol. The taste was just great too. It has a fairly smooth and sweet start, which turns fairly tart/sour and it just has a lovely lingering pear taste with some mild acidity. This is just so easy going and doesn’t feel anywhere near 7.5%, so watch out for it. Overall, it feels a fairly balanced, exciting and slightly tart perry that I would happily have again.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    Do you find Perries to be less complex than coders? I have not had any Perry experiences yet though I should.

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Overall I find perries a bit sweeter in general than a standard proper cider. As for ciders being more complex, I think stereotypically it can be true from experience, but there are complex perries out there that will blow your socks off. You have to try some perries from Herefordshire/Gloucestershire, as some are just sublime.

  2. 3

    Matty Wal said,

    Dear Mr Dunkerton,
    Please don’t quit your day job, because quite simply, your perry is cat piss. That is, of course, unless your day job is brewing this organic perry. In this instance, I beg you, for the sake of humanity, to stop burdening mankind with the incredibly ordinary taste of this vile liquid. Maybe add some cinnamon (organic, of course)?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

