Gold Rush Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Oliver’s/Virtue Cider
Cider Name: Gold Rush
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.7%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 15/10/12

It’s the final day of my trip to Dusseldorf and Amsterdam, so what better way to end it than with a transatlantic cider too in the form of Gold Rush.

This is a collaboration between Oliver’s Cider and Virtue Cider, who reside from the windy city of Chicago. From the looks of it, it was made this side of the Atlantic in Herefordshire with the help of the guys from Virtue Cider.

I can’t say I have ever had a proper American cider, so I am not sure what influence there would be on this one. However, I’ve never had a bad one from Oliver’s yet, so I have some high hopes here.

From just smelling it, it seems to have a deep apple smell and some form of oakiness coming through. As for the taste, it starts off with a bit of sweetness, which soon follows onto a sour apple taste and a good bit of oak taste following on with a good level of tannins. I wouldn’t say it is the most challenging of ciders, but it feels well balanced, very easy to drink and has a decent lingering taste.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Just tried the Gold Rush a few weeks ago at Virtue HQ in Chicago. It’s more sour and earthy than nearly any cider you’d find made in the US. Greg Hall of Virtue was a pioneering figure in the American craft brewing movement…so if there’s anything American about this cider, it’s the spirit of experimentation and the willingness to try out different fermentation and aging techniques. With this cider, a lambic yeast was added to induce a secondary fermentation…presumably this would yield some of the sourness and funkiness that beers traditionally made in the Brussels region would have.

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Cheers for the further information on Virtue Cider and Greg Hall. I’ve yet to experience an American cider yet, so I wasn’t too sure what is “typical” over there. I hope I can make a trip eventually to explore the cider sights of North America.

      • 3

        I’d love to do a transatlantic trade…a box or two of our best ciders for a box or two of your best ciders. I’m guessing that the shipping costs for such a trade would be outrageous!

  2. 4

    Patrick Huff said,

    I certainly have been hearing quie a bit about Greg Halls Ciders. I am looking for this and I do not like a women with too much makeup. Reminds me of the girls I dated in the 80s.

    The lambic secondary sounds pretty cool.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

