Pips Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Pips
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 15/10/12

I’m still on the train back to Amsterdam and I couldn’t resist but crack open another cider. I am on holiday after all and I need to enjoy myself with what time left before the daily grind starts tomorrow.

It’s been a while since I have had a Pips cider…actually it’s well over a year come to think of it, so it’s about time I got back on it. This is their dry cider, which is made from a blend of 7 different types of bittersweet and bittersharp apples at their Woodlands Farm in Dorstone, Herefordshire. I did enjoy their medium, so i have my fingers crossed this is as decent as that. Though some dry ciders can be a bit hit or miss for me though. I like a cider to have a dry touch, but not overpowering.

This cider I have to say doesn’t have the strongest of smells at all. It feels like a light apple smell is there but not too much.

From the first taste you can tell that it is dry and starts to dry out your gums nearly immediately. It’s a very crisp, dry and smooth appley taste, which ends with a bitter sharp finish and mild sourness. This is probably a little too much on the dry side for me and I definitely prefer their medium. If you like a nice dry cider, then this could be the one for you.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly but prefer their medium
Overall Rating: 7/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    If she were a women I would at least giver a try before introducing her to my friends. LOL.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

