Perry’s Farm Pressed Medium Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Perry’s
Cider Name: Farm Pressed Medium Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 5%
Taste: Medium
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Dull orange/Hint of red
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 18/10/12

This is another cider I recently got on my trip to the Bristol Cider Shop, which was recommended by them to try out. Being the nice person I am, I duly obliged and I’ve finally got round to drinking this one. From not reviewing a Perry’s at all, to 2 in just over a week is pretty good going! This is one of the few of their varieties I have not actually seen sold elsewhere before. You can usually find Perry’s in some supermarkets or even some restaurants, but surprisingly this one hasn’t featured in my experience. As with all of their ciders, this was made on their farm in Dowlish Wake and has been maturing for at least 6 months before it has been let loose on the public.

This is yet again another sparkling cider, which pours with a fairly large head, but also settles down fairly quickly. It doesn’t go to a standstill though and it gently bubbles away consistently, but not heavily. The smell is of fairly rich apples and very appealing and fresh. Now onto the important part, the drinking! – It has a good juicy, sweet appley start, but then the mix between sharp and sour kicks in, with a good level of bitterness pushing its way in the mix too with moderate tannins. This feels very well-balanced, refreshing, drinkable and certainly one of my favourite Perry’s cider. I think I need to plan a trip down there to sample their draught cider, as I am sure it will make this an even more pleasurable experience without the bubbles. I can certainly see this going down well on a hot summers day and if the draught is decent, then that could be a good session cider.

Would I buy this again?:
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

