Brook Farm Medium Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Brook Farm
Cider Name: Medium Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.2%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Ludlow Food Centre, Shropshire
Date: 21/10/12

So today is apple day, I’m all the way in a hot and humid Tunisia and I luckily happened to have packed a few ciders for the occasion to celebrate. Well, I can’t go too long without having a decent cider, so I have packed 4 for my 10 day trip.

The drama has already started in that I left my padlock key to my suitcase in my car in blighty, as my other half suggested I left them in the car to not lose my house keys. Firstly I had to break into my suitcase due to the lack of keys and then I next realised on that same keyring was the bottle opener. Not to be defeated I used a dinner knife and broke my way in to the bottle. This is the likes of what they should teach scouts, as it is an essential life skill!

First up today is a Brook Farm Medium Dry cider, which my mate Jon got from his travels in Shropshire at the Ludlow Food Centre. From having a quick look about them, it appears last years harvest is their final one and thus no more once their stocks have run dry. I do feel lucky I got to try them before they became no more! It’s sad to hear of a cider producer stopping their legacy, but it’s understandable too, as they all have their reasons why to stop.

This poured very lightly sparkling with literally no head. There is a light fizz going on after it initially settled, but it’s so minor it’s barely noticeable. The smell is definitely of apples and a fairly juicy feel at that.

After that lovely smell, the taste was kind of let it down. It’s still got a good smooth apple taste, has a dry end to it with mild tannins, but it just feels a bit watered down and a bit of anticlimax, after thinking it was going to promise so much. I wanted the taste to take over my mouth and take it on a wicked journey, but sadly it fizzled out before it should have and lacked depth and complexity in my opinion. It’s still a fairly decent dry cider, but could have left a better legacy so much more than it did.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 7/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    Ahhhh. To have high expectations and be let down. Too bad.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

