Robinsons Fine Dry Vintage Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Robinsons
Cider Name: Fine Dry Vintage Cider
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Ludlow Food Centre, Shropshire
Date: 26/10/12

I’m over half way through my holiday to Tunisia now and surprisingly have been very restrained in my cider drinking. This is only my 2nd bottle I have had in just under a week, which is probably the lowest amount of cider I have drank in years. Don’t worry though, it has not been through choice, but I have just been abusing the all-inclusive too much!

This is another one of the bottles my friend got from Ludlow Food Centre and it is from a cider producer I’ve heard very little about. The only Robinsons I know of are the ones behind the squash and not the cider. I’m always happy to try new things though!

According to its label, this is made from traditional cider apple varieties like Foxwhelp, Brown Snout and Kingston Black, and doesn’t use any sprays or pesticides in their orchard. Also, it’s all collected by hand and takes over 2lbs of apples to make just the 1 bottle. So it sounds like they are probably fairly small scale, but also put a lot of effort and time to try and make a decent product. That all sounds good to me!

This poured a slightly amber side of golden, with no head and very little fizz. The smell gives off a full, rich apple smell, with a slight rustic feel to it.

As for the taste, it has a juicy apple feel to it, which turns fairly sour and tangy, slight bitterness, a crisp dry finish, and a moderately long lingering taste. I would definitely say this feels more medium/dry than the dry it claims. You will have to love your cider sour and tangy to really appreciate this, which luckily I do. It’s not hugely complex in my opinion, but is very good at what it does.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

