Waitrose Reserve Cider (Dry) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Waitrose
Cider Name: Reserve Cider (Dry)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 8.2%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Ethanol
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Ocado
Date: 05/11/12

The cider stocks are getting low again, so it is time to raid the fridge for whatever I can get my hands on. Lo and behold, stuck at the back, I managed to find a Waitrose Reserve Cider. I had actually completely forgotten I had this one, but it was another I ordered a while back online from Ocado.

There’s very little information on the label of this cider, but it does say it is from Herefordshire, is cold filtered to retain the authentic traditional cider taste and is strong at 8.2%. I hope this is not made strong for the sake of being strong and does have some flavour to the drink. I can’t say I feel overly confident just reading the bottle, but time will tell I guess!

This poured very clear and golden and with a fair head to it. Though thankfully it doesn’t look to be overly fizzy, but you can definitely see a few bubbles in the glass. It has a fairly strong apple smell (maybe green apples?) to it too and is not too bad on the nose, though you can also smell a bit of ethanol too.

Now onto the main event, the taste, and I have to say it starts sweet & fairly sour/bitter, then a strong alcoholic apple taste comes into the equation and followed lastly by a crisp dry finish. I’m a bit undecided about this one really if I’m honest. It just tastes strong without having an amazing taste to back that up. Could this possibly be a rebadged Henry J Weston Vintage Cider? It definitely feels similar to this, even if it is not.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

